linux ubuntu UM not loading anything

i can’t tell you how difficult it was for me to get everything just right so i could download UM. now, i finally have it loading… but it won’t take any of my songs. i have tried many different mp3 files, and none will load. can anyone help me with a suggestion? i am kinda new to linux, and new to UM. i am trying hard to understand and make it work. in another posting someone wrote about oss alsa. this is beyond my comprehension. but i just need to know = why are no songs able to load and play?

Probably your OSS ist not enabled on your ubuntu system. UltraMixer needs OSS to play audio tracks. We are working on UltraMixer 2.3.5 for Linux which will support also ALSA on your ubuntu system, so that you can play your music.

when i go under the menu area - and i select the sound option thingie, i see the term “oss” listed. there is nothing under the player 1 or player 2. danke fuer Hilfe.

i am not sure about this oss and alsa stuff. when i loaded the ubuntu os onto the pc - what did it have oss? do i have to enable something? how is that done? xmms plays mp3 files. so the sound card is working. is it an issue of having to tell ubuntu that ultramixer wants to use oss or alsa or what? do i have to go into ubuntu and tell it waht to do?

ok, well, i was able to get a mac system and load ultramixer. and it is working. i would still like to see if i could get it working on the linux ubuntu system. i guess i have to figure out a way to tell ubuntu to use oss or alsa… not sure exactly how to do that. and then i have to tell ultramixer that my ubuntu is using oss… !!!

Hi bree,

I am quite sure it’s better to wait for the upcoming ALSA support in UltraMixer than to get the OSS working on Ubuntu again.

regards
Sl@jaR